Official website of His Majesty King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein
King Abdullah II Award for Excellence in Government Performance and Transparency

The King Abdullah II Award for Excellence in Government Performance and Transparency was launched in 2002 in response to His Majesty’s vision of nurturing a culture of excellence in government institutions and to enhance public sector services to the Jordanian community and investors. It is the highest excellence award for the public sector at the national level.

The award seeks to make excellence in service the goal of all government institutions and thus encourages civil service personnel to perform at or above international best practice levels. By encouraging government leaders to establish performance criteria within state institutions, the award contributes to the creation of a public sector environment that fosters more efficient public service, supports government policies and promotes excellence as an integral component of its work.

Objectives of the award:
  • Enhancing public sector services to the Jordanian community and investors, by spreading awareness of total quality management concepts and performance, highlighting the outstanding efforts of public sector enterprises and presenting their achievements in the development of systems and services.
  • Creating a quality shift, developing the performance of departments and governmental institutions, enhancing positive competitiveness among them in the service of Jordanian citizens, and deepening the culture of excellence based on the three pillars of the global best practices.
  • Exchange of excellent experiences and successful administrative practices among Jordanian institutions in order to provide the best to Jordanian citizens and local and foreign investors.
The prize is awarded annually to a winner, in each of the following categories:
  • Best ministry category
  • Best public institution / department / independent authority
  • Best achievement category
  • Outstanding public servant category.

The prize has a board of trustees, appointed by royal decree, chaired by His Royal Highness Prince Faisal Bin Al Hussein. Since its launch in 2002, the award has organised four sessions, with continuously higher participation:

  • 2002-2003: 20 institutions
  • 2004-2005: 34 institutions
  • 2006-2007: 52 institutions
  • 2007-2008: 63 institutions